Posted by: peebles | July 3, 2010

1 Peter 2:17 (KJV) ~ Honour the king.

1 Peter 2:17 (KJV) ~ Honour the king.

Stop what your are doing for a few minutes, close your eyes and mediate upon this thought, “Honour the King.” It is an awesome thought, is it not? Can you picture in your mind your King sitting upon his throne, extending his sceptre of favour towards you? Then, you hear him speaking as the room stills at the sound of his voice that is as loud as thunder yet, as gentle as a lamb; His eyes looking straight at you, as he calls you by name. You approach the throne of grace and mercy and bow before the King. Then he says to you, “I have chosen you, I clothe you with my armour which bears my name, I have chosen you to go with a message from your King to all the earth. You will never be alone; the Counsellor will guide you in all truth. Now what say you?” There, before the hall of great witnesses you reply, “I willing surrender my all to you my King, I will honour and serve you all my days with everything I have.”

In days of old when men were bold, and served their King with gladness,

To serve with honour all their day’s, with sword and shield and willing hearts,

They gave their all to honour their King, for His Kingdom and His glory,

Works of faith, which gained victory to victory with tongues of fire to tell His story,

Great exploits were done, when men were bold and served their King with gladness.

Does not our text for today from 1 Peter 2:17 (KJV), “Honour the king,” stir your heart to pure and unwavering service to honour your King with gladness, to honour Him with your worship in all its various forms, to praise him and have a testimony that brings Him glory?
There is a beautiful song written by Jarrod Copper with these stirring lyrics:


King of King, Majesty, God of heaven living in me,

Gentle Saviour, closest friend,

Strong Deliverer, Beginning and End,

All within me falls at your throne,

Majesty, I can but bow,

I lay my all, before you now,

In royal robes I don’t deserve,

I live to serve your Majesty.

My friend, perhaps I sound like an old romantic by saying, “Serve the King with gladness and honour Him in all that you do.” But for me there is not a more worthwhile cause, not a nobler task to complete, not a greater mission to accomplish than to honour my Saviour, my friend Jesus Christ my King. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

