Posted by: peebles | June 8, 2010

Deuteronomy 1:6 to 7 (NIV) ~ The LORD our God said to us at Horeb, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain. Break camp and advance.”

Deuteronomy 1:6 to 7 (NIV) ~ The LORD our God said to us at Horeb, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain. Break camp and advance.” 

You have gone round this mountain long enough, it is time to break out and advance! This verse of Scripture is repeated in Chapter 2, verse 2, “You have made your way around this hill country (mountain) long enough.” There comes a time in your life when it is time to break out of the mundane, mediocre life of simply going around the same mountain day after day, month after month and year after year, it is time to break out and advance forward. It is time to break out of your comfort zone and move forward. It is time to breakout and advance forward to progress into new areas, new adventures of faith and a new direction with everything that God has blessed you with. For someone, it may be time to re-dig some wells that the enemy has stopped up. For someone, it may be time to break out into new areas of evangelism. For someone, it may be having the courage to take a step of faith and break out and advance forward in missionary work.  

Perhaps the word of the LORD is speaking to your heart today from our text for today in Deuteronomy 1:6 to 7 (NIV), “The LORD our God said to us at Horeb, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain. Break camp and advance.” When you move forward and break out, let it be so as the Lord directs. If the people of Israel never broke out, then they would have never experienced the many victories or even crossing over into the Promised Land. If you never break out and advance in God, you will never experience all the victories that are just waiting for you to enjoy, and see the fulfilment of all that God has promised in your life. 

My friend, you have a choice to make. Do you spend your life just wandering around a mountainside and never really moving forward, or even advancing to take the ground from the enemy? Or, do you take courage from God’s word and take His direction, and break out and go forward in God?

God rewards your faith in Him, He will strengthen you every step of the way. It’s time to break out and advance. It is time to go forward in God. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. A really good word!
    Thanks, Matthew!
    Just what I needed to hear today.
    Bless you, brother!

  2. Simple Observations we can all consider for our lives:

    1. God did not consult with the people, not even the leaders as to the weather, their finances, age, health, readiness, etc. – surely he could not know better than them, us, could he ? ( does he not say I am your strength and your shield lean not unto your own understanding

    2. He did not tell them retreat, go sideways, shift here or there, it seems God only knew/knows one direction they/we need to go, ‘ forward in Christ , ADVANCE – advance in faith, advance in trust, advance in wisdom, advance in humility, advance in self sacrifice, advance in following Jesus’s direction to see the promise land

  3. Thanks – quite uncanny, today I was going though tough time. I was talk to a dear friend about my feelings, emotions, thoughts – I was feeling in a state of “please help me god”. This was around 6.15pm. I got home and checked my emails around 8pm and there were two emails from someone I didn’t know – sent at the time 6.15pm to 6.22pm (time when I was in real outcry) to my email (without using a dot) – so google delivered them to my inbox.
    One of the email was about this exact topic you’ve written about – and the other was a prayer to remove satan from all areas of our lives. Both very apt emails…

    so if it was spam, it was very intuitive spam (and no links to click on). God, the universe works in so any wonder ways…

    I’m not Christian however I respect all faiths as we are all from the same source.

    From a Hindu/Buddhist Brother to a Christian Brother, thanks for this article (as I needed more expansion on Deut 1.6). Peace

  4. Thank you Mathew, I hope to continue receiving your thoughts.

  5. God put this verse in my heart yesterday. I then search on the web to hear what GOd was saying to me. I read it on your website and God truly spoke to me. Than k you for bring =ing the word as it is. The challenges that you bring out clearly makes me think of the opportunities I am depriving myself when I remain in my ‘cage.’ It deprives me of daring to go out and seeing new ventures and what life can bring to me..

    May GOd continue to use you – in God’s vineyard.

    Blessings
    Dumisani Joshua Nxumalo
    Johannesburg – South Africa


Leave a Reply

Categories

