Posted by: peebles | June 7, 2010

2 Corinthians 6:2 (NIV) ~ For he says, “In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.” I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.

2 Corinthians 6:2 (NIV) ~ For he says, “In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.” I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation. 

Within this heavenly cluster of fruits, just ripe for you to enjoy from the vineyard of God, you will find that the word favor is mentioned twice. Favor is a very strong word, within this verse we find two different words in the Greek for favor. First, the Greek word for favor is dektos and then euprosdektos both meaning accepted and favorable towards.  

Now let us go back to our verse for today and see something develop: to begin with, God says, “In the time of my favor I heard you.” Notice if you will, God hears your prayers and His favor is smiling towards you to answer them. Then, “In the day of salvation I helped you.” ELOHIM ADONAI gives you His Divine intervention on your behalf to help you. Wow! How amazing is that?

Listen closely to this next one, “Now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.” All you will ever need in life is to be found in Jesus Christ, and salvation through Him. Salvation is an all-inclusive Greek word sozo meaning to save, rescue, deliver, heal, prosper, protect, and set free. To experience God’s favor through salvation is to know more of His grace, His love and mercy. Grace is God’s unmerited favor; it is something that cannot be earned because His grace is a gift. The Bible says in Proverbs 8:35 (NIV), “For whoever finds me finds life and receives the favor of the LORD.” The Hebrew word for favor is rason meaning acceptance, goodwill, desires to bless. God’s desire is to bless you with His favor, His goodwill over your life, His generosity and His approval, for you to benefit from His blessing over your life through Jesus Christ, the Author of your salvation. 

My friend, the more you explore our text for today in 2 Corinthians 6:2 (NIV), “For he says, ‘In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.’ I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation,” the more you see God’s desire to bless you in every area of your life. In the Old Testament, people sought the favor of God, but now His favor is willingly being poured over your life as you walk in covenant relationship with God, for the Bible says in Leviticus 26:9 (NIV), “I will look on you with favor and make you fruitful.” May you live this day in His favor of salvation and enjoy the benefits that come by living in a covenant relationship with Jesus Christ. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

