Posted by: peebles | May 7, 2010

Ruth 3:9 (NIV) ~ “Who are you?” [Asked Boaz], “I am your servant Ruth,” she said. “Spread the corner of your garment over me, since you are a kinsman-redeemer.”

Ruth 3:9 (NIV) ~ “Who are you?” [Asked Boaz], “I am your servant Ruth,” she said. “Spread the corner of your garment over me, since you are a kinsman-redeemer.” 

“Spread the corner of your garment over me, since you are a kinsman-redeemer.” Oh, how some women long to hear those words from their husbands.  How much peace would it bring to a woman’s heart if her husband would say to her, “As Boaz covered Ruth, so I am covering you with my garment of protection, provision and prayer?”

When Ruth went to Boaz, she lay down at his feet, not in any unholy manner, but as one coming humbly to her kinsman-redeemer. She said to Boaz, “Spread the corner of your garment over me, since you are a kinsman-redeemer.” The very second in which Boaz took the corner of his garment and covered Ruth with it, she was accepted. Her past was wiped clean, and all the sorrows and hard times were now behind her. In that very instant, she was under his protection and provision, and he would love her and take care of her for the rest of her life. Which brings me to a good point, “Love is not just in what you say, it’s in what you do.”

This woman, Ruth, was once a Moabite who followed foreign gods. Her mother-in-law was Naomi, an Israelite who followed the LORD. Once, when Naomi tried to send Ruth back to her own people, because Ruth’s husband had died, Ruth clung to her and said, “Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.”  

My friend, when we come to Jesus, our Kinsman-Redeemer and cling to Him, when we ask God to be our God and when we ask Him to cover us with corner of his garment, in that very second when He does so, we are instantly accepted. Instantly we are covered with His protection, His favor, His blessing and His bounty. He covers us with His garment of love, and instantly, He gives us a new beginning. Jesus, our bridegroom, covers us with His garment of acceptance. He covers us with His pardon and with His garment of healing. He covers us in prayer and with His provision and protection. Today, as you go to the feet of Jesus, ask Him to be your Kinsman-Redeemer and let Him cover you with acceptance, healing, forgiveness and wholeness. Let Him give you a new beginning covered by His love. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

