Posted by: peebles | April 21, 2010

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV) ~ Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV) ~ Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! 

When I was about five years old I was given a teddy bear for Christmas. To the world it was nothing special, just an old teddy bear. Over the years, I have sewn the two arms back on, it has one eye missing, its nose has been glued back on countless numbers of times, I have had to push the stuffing back in several times, the head had come off more times than I care to remember and the fur is now faded. But it is my teddy bear and I would not have it any other way. Year after year I would get toys at Christmas and birthday time, but still I loved my old battered and bruised teddy bear, because to me he was real and I loved him. 

When I was born I was given the gift of life from God; a newborn baby in a brave new world. Over the years, I too have been battered and bruised emotionally. I have felt worn out, and as if I have had the stuffing knocked out of me. And at times, I have felt as though I was treated like a damaged toy off a shelf that no one wants to have anything to do with anymore. So many people I once counted as friends have fallen away. But then someone lifted me up and said, “I love you just the way you are.” His love made me live again, to Him I was real, wanted and loved.  And once you’re real and loved you can never be the same again. 

My friend, Jesus Christ looked at me and loved me just the way I was. I was not perfect by any means, nor did I ever think I deserved His grace, but to Jesus I was worth saving, I was worth loving, I was worth Him saying to the world, “This one belongs to me, I love him and he is beautiful to me.” When all others forsake you, Jesus never will. Jesus delights is saving damaged goods and making them new again. Oh, what joy, what peace, what hope and encouragement we draw from our text for today in 2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV), “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” We are made real in Jesus, and once you are made real in Him you can never be the same again. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Hi matthew, that speaks to me a lot today, often feel like a teddy bear.. i have to remember God’s got his eye on me all the time.. thanks for writing it.

    “And once you’re real and loved you can never be the same again.” May you feel loved today, just the way you are.. Pray God makes us really real and intact for Him to love all the more..


Leave a Reply

Categories

