Posted by: peebles | April 17, 2010

Matthew 5:3 (KJV) ~ Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 5:3 (KJV) ~ Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 

Today, I witnessed a man being buried, who just weeks before his death, closed a deal worth millions of pounds, yet died in abject spiritual poverty. The Bible says in Mark 8:36 (NIV), “What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?” The Bible also says in Revelation 3:17 to 18 (NIV) “You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.”

Our text for today says in Matthew 5:3 (KJV), “Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” Blessed are those who say, “I have nothing and I am nothing without you, Lord. I am poor in spirit without you, wretched sinner than I am, lost in sin.” From the depths of my heart I cry out to you dear Lord, “I need you to fill me with Your Life so I can see, I need to be clothed in you and be rich in the kingdom of God,” and then, humbly bow before the Lord and cry aloud for His mercy, and at His feet admit before Him that I am poor in spirit without Him, and from there be filled with the kingdom of heaven because of His love, acceptance and grace.

My friend, for the man, in this thought for today, it was too late, he died poor in spirit without knowing Jesus Christ as his Lord and Saviour. Even though to the world he was rich in many ways, he claimed he could see, yet was blind spiritually to the truth of God’s word. He claimed he was clothed with wealthy clothes yet, was naked in his shame before the Lord; he will never be clothed in a royal rob of pure white. But for those who read this word from the Lord, there is hope, for when you come to Jesus Christ and there at the cross humbly bow and admit that without Jesus in your life you are poor in spirit and need Him to fill you with His Life so you can be rich in Him, then you will understand and live in the life changing truth from Matthew 5:3 (KJV), “Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

