Posted by: peebles | March 23, 2010

Esther 4:14 (KJV) ~ and who knoweth whether thou art come to the kingdom for such a time as this?

Esther 4:14 (KJV) ~ and who knoweth whether thou art come to the kingdom for such a time as this? 

You have come to the kingdom for such a time as this. Such a time as this begs the question: if God allowed me to choose to be born in any generation or during any period of time, to be effective and produce fruit for His kingdom, what generation or era would I select? 

I would look upon God’s people in Egypt during their struggle against the deep darkness of slavery, and watch in great awe at their mighty deliverance through miracle after miracle, from the ten plagues to the crossing of the Red sea.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would watch Joshua march around the city of Jericho and see the wall fall down before them with only a great shout of victory.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would see a young shepherd boy, by the name of David, take on the might of a giant who was over nine feet tall, by the name of Goliath, who was clothed in his full armour with a javelin and huge sword, and defeat him with a sling shot, in the name of the Lord of hosts.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I could stand beside Elijah on Mount Carmel as he stood against 450 prophets of Baal and called fire down from heaven, and then see him outrun the chariot of Ahab.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I could look on with King Nebuchadnezzar and all his royal dignitaries, and watch in astonishment as a trio become a quartet as Meshach, Shadrach and Abednego stood in the fiery furnace, which was stoked up until it was seven times hotter than before, with them standing in the middle and seeing someone like the Son of man standing with them, protecting from the flames, and when they came out not even their clothes smelled of smoke. 

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would look on in awe at the outpouring of the Holy Spirit upon those gathered in the upper chamber on the day of Pentecost and then, watch Peter, full of the fire of the Holy Spirit, preach such a powerful message and see over three thousand people saved in one day.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

There on Mars Hill, I would listen to the Apostle Paul speak to the great philosophers of the Roman times about Jesus.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would look over the shoulder of Josephus, the great Jewish historian, and watch him compose his great writings of the Jewish people.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would then leap through the pages of history and turn to the Renaissance and watch with great delight as Martin Luther, on All Saints day in 31st of October 1517, nail his 95 Theses on the door of the church at Wittenberg in Germany.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

From there, I would listen to John Knox, in 1561, the great Scottish reformer who knelt before God and cried out, “Give me Scotland or I die.” And there, I would hear Mary Queen of Scots say, “I fear the prayers of John Knox more than all the assembled armies of Europe.”

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would hear with sheer delight in 1650 of Blaise Pascal calling out with joy as he received Jesus Christ as his Lord and Saviour, rejoicing with words of praise, “I have found him, not the god of this world but the God of the Bible, oh joy, joy, joy, fire, fire, joy, fire, joy!”

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

Then in 1754, I would listen to Handel’s beautiful musical score entitled, “Messiah.”

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would see the missionary William Carey preach his inspiring message on New Year’s Day on 1792, “Expect great things from God and attempt great things for God.”

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would stand in the house of Parliament in 1833, and hear the words from the speaker of the house telling people that the abolition of slavery, that William Wilberforce had so passionately campaigned for, had passed. 

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

Then watch in 1849, as David Livingstone went Africa, and in 1853, see Hudson Taylor go to China to take God’s word to the people. And hear him say, “I cannot go on living unless I tell the people of China about Jesus.”

But I wouldn’t stop there.  

I would then go on to Abraham Lincoln and hear him say on the 19th of November in 1863, at the Gettysburg Address, “All men are created equal.”

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would go on to 1903 and watch as the Wright brothers flew an airplane at Kitty Hawk for the first time.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would then go on to the early part of the 1900s and hear such men as D.L. Moody and Charles Finney as they preached the gospel fearlessly.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would go on to 14th April 1906 to William J. Seymour during the Azusa street revival, and then George Jeffries, John Alexander Dowie, Evan Roberts, a blacksmith before his calling, John .G. Lake, A. A. Allan, Smith Wigglesworth, a plumber before his calling, Maria Woodworth-Etter, and Aimee Semple McPherson, who saw mighty miracles of salvation and healings.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would move right on up to the amazing revival in the Hebrides in 1949, as Duncan Campbell preached the word of God and cried out to God to save the lost.

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

Then, on the 26th of August 1963, I would look up towards the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C., and watch Martin Luther King, Jr. begin his famous speech, “I Have a Dream.” 

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

Also On the 20th of July 1969, I would look on with wonder as Neil Armstrong became the first man to step foot on the moon saying, “This is one small step for man and one giant leap for mankind.”

But I wouldn’t stop there. 

I would move right on up to the early 60s and 70s I would see mighty manifestations of the move of God through souls being saved and people being delivered, healed and set free, through the preaching of Kathryn Kuhlman, T.L.Osborn, and Billy Graham, and then into the 80s and 90s with Reinhard Bonnke.

But I wouldn’t stop there.  

With my own eyes I would see the Berlin Wall fall, the birth of the Internet, where you can take God’s word into every corner of the world and share God’s word through a computer, and the creation of the mobile phone, as well as endless other technological marvels.  

I would then turn to God and say, “This is the time I would love to be born in, the latter part of one millennium and early part of the new millennium, the dawn of a fresh outpouring of Your Holy Spirit.” 

My friend, there is no other time in history like this, as our text for today says in Esther 4:14 (KJV), “And who knoweth whether thou art come to the kingdom for such a time as this?”  This is your time, you have been brought into the kingdom for such a time as this, and God is pouring out His Holy Spirit on all flesh. This is your time to be fruitful, this generation is your generation, and there is no other generation in history where you could have been more productive and effective than this, for you were brought into the kingdom for such a time as this. This is your time to be history makers and nation shakers for the kingdom of God. This is your time to write a new chapter in the book of the Acts of God’s people who believed in His word and moved in His power. You are an instrument of His Divine redemptive purpose for all of mankind; you have been brought into the kingdom for such a time as this

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

