Posted by: peebles | July 19, 2009

Psalm 46:10 (KJV) ~ Be still, and know that I am God.

Psalm 46:10 (KJV) ~ Be still, and know that I am God. 

In this world where we are taught to always be busy; to always be on the go, there seems to be very little time to be still before the Lord. Perhaps, if we would only take the time to do so, we would enter into a new realm of His peace, His power and His Presence. It’s so sweet to spend time before the Lord, to quiet the raging waters of our soul, to still the beating heart heavy with worry, to claim the wind of thoughts that pull us here and there, to simply be still before the Lord and worship Him. Just because we stop singing, does not mean we stop worshipping. 

This Psalm starts off with this awesome Scripture (Psalm 46:1 KJV), “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” The writer of this Psalm pours out over the reader, the healing, comforting, and reassuring oil of the Holy Spirit, and soaks them with the waters of Life from heaven itself; the river whose streams make glad the city of God. 

When we take the time to be still before the Lord, to fully lay all our burdens at His feet, and learn to relax and be still, and let God be God, we will learn to trust Him more. If we are honest with ourselves, we would admit that there have been too many times when we have taken things into our own hands, and rushed here and there without much fruit being produced. However, if we will just take the time to be still before the Lord, and let God be God, He will deliver us.  And when we are quiet and still before Him, and prayerfully seek His will and wait for the answer, then we may hear these words from the Lord, just as He spoke to King David in 2 Samuel 5:24 (KJV), “ And let it be, when thou hearest the sound of a going in the tops of the mulberry trees, that then thou shalt bestir thyself: for then shall the LORD go out before thee.” 

Be still and know that I am God. I will go before you and prepare the way for you to walk in victory. Be still and know His awesome power to save, heal, deliver and set free. Be still, and know that I am God. May His Divine Omnipotence, His awesome miracle working power be displayed before us and through us, so that He will be exalted among the nations, and He will be exalted among the Earth, as an awesome God. 

My friend, for some, being still is a foreign concept. However, how can we clearly hear God amidst all the hustle and bustle of life, if we do not take time to listen and be still before Him? Let God be God in your life. 

Be still and know that I am God,

Be still and know that I am God,

Be still and know that I am God.

 

I am the Lord that healeth thee,

I am the Lord that healeth thee,

I am the Lord that healeth thee.

 

In Thee, O Lord, I put my trust,

In Thee, O Lord, I put my trust,

In Thee, O Lord, I put my trust. 

It can sometimes be in the quiet time, just like Elijah on the mountain, where he heard all sort of sounds, but God was not in the wind, nor in the earthquake, nor even in the fire, but He was in the gentle whisper. When we quiet our hearts before Him, without the distractions of life, we can hear Him speak to us. As our text for today says from Psalm 46:10 (KJV), Be still, and know that I am God.” 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Thankyou so very much- I believe that I recieved your powerful message straight into my heart-as if it was spoken directly from our Lord Jesus and heavenly Father!-i know that He loves me and the Word of God has brought peace and healing into my life-praise God for the Living water-thankyou again-warmest regards-follower of Christ


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

