Posted by: peebles | May 24, 2009

1 Corinthians 13:11 (NIV) ~ When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.

1 Corinthians 13:11 (NIV) ~ When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 

I had a misspent youth reading story books and watching children’s cartoons, such as Astrix the Gaul, who would drink a potion that would give him supernatural strength to defeat the Romans, also Popeye the Sailor Man, who would eat spinach and then suddenly have the power to save his girlfriend Olive, and defeat his enemy Blotto. I loved Superman and the idea of being a hero. I guess I was always looking for a hero to save me. 

Being a hero to someone can simply mean that you are there for them when they need someone. It is taking the time to listen and going out of your way to help someone, when others have passed them by. It is going that extra mile without expecting anything in response. In some small way, we can all be a hero to someone. A hero can be someone who saves you from imminent danger; someone who risks their own life to save someone. 

Noel and Tricia Richards once wrote the song, ‘ Champion (The world is looking for a hero),’ with these beautiful words: 

The world is looking for a hero, we know the greatest one of all, 

The mighty ruler of the nations, King of kings and Lord of lords,

Who took the nature of a servant, and gave His life to save us all,

The Lord Almighty is His name, He has breaks the stranglehold of sin. 

The Bible says this in Romans 5: 6 to 8 (NIV), “You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.’ How awesome is that? Even when we were still lost in our sin, God loved us so much, that He gave His Son Jesus, who went to the cross and died for us, that we may come to know God. Now that is what I call a hero; one whom I can follow and believe in. 

There is now a putting away of childish things, and facing up to the responsibilities to become a man. I have come to realise that in this world I need a hero, one who saves me, who is constantly with me and helps me every step of the way. My champion, my hero is Jesus Christ the Saviour of my soul, who has what Hebrews 7:16 says (NIV), “The basis of the power of an indestructible life.”

I have the awesome responsibility of living a Christ-centred lifestyle of telling people about Jesus. I don’t have a potion as Astrix had, to give me supernatural strength, nor do I eat spinach like Popeye the Sailor Man, that would give me huge muscles to save people and defeat the enemy. What God gives you, reverently speaking, is a gift from above by the enduing of power from on high by way of being baptised with the Holy Spirit and power. Through the power of the Holy Spirit, we are enabled to be witnesses for Jesus, to tell the world that is looking for a hero, to look no further than Jesus. He will save them completely, He will never leave them nor forsake them, He will give them the power to overcome the enemy. Furthermore, He will help us to be God-centred and live a purpose-driven lifestyle, and more than that, to live life on purpose for Jesus.  

My friend, there comes a time when we grow up not only in the natural, but also in the Spiritual sense, and rise up to be a man and take hold of the awesome responsibility of the gospel, to tell the world about the greatest hero of all, Jesus Christ, who loves them so much, who wants to save them and fill them with His power to overcome. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

