Posted by: peebles | May 8, 2009

Ephesians 6:7 (NIV) ~ Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.

Ephesians 6:7 (NIV) ~ Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.  

To many people, one of the greatest boxers of all time was Mohammad Ali, who said of himself as a boxer, “I am the greatest!” Then, on another occasion, he said, “I float like a butterfly and sting like a bee.” I would be amiss if I failed to mention his reply to an opponent at a pre-match news conference, “If you ever dream about beating me, your better wake up and apologise.” But one day, when someone asked him the question, “If you were not a boxer what would you have been?” His reply was inspiring; He said, “If I was not a boxer, I would have been a bin man, but I would have been the best bin man that ever lived!” 

What is wrong in wanting to be the best, at what you do, for God? If I am asked to clean the church parking lot, what is wrong in wanting to do the best job possible, and be the best parking lot cleaner the church has ever had? What is wrong in wanting to strive for excellence in the Kingdom of God and to be the best at whatever you are called to be? 

Martin Luther King once said, “If a man is called to be a street sweeper, he should sweep streets as Michelangelo painted, or Beethoven played music, or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the host of heaven and earth will pause and say, ‘Here is a great street sweeper who did his job well.’” 

My friend, let us take up the challenged, from our text for today, in Ephesians 6:7 (NIV), Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.” Serve God by being the best at whatever He has called you to be. If I am asked to be an usher, or a Sunday school teacher, or a deacon, or an elder, a worship leader, a youth leader, or even someone who makes the tea after church, or helps with putting out chairs for a meeting, let me do so with a smile on my face and joy in my heart, for it is Jesus whom I am serving, and I am doing so to bless Him. 

What is wrong in wanting to strive for excellence in our Bible study time, our prayer life and our worship? When I go to be a witness and tell people about Jesus, let me be the best witness that I can be. Let us learn to serve God with our very best. Let us strive for excellence and serve Jesus wholeheartedly, and be the best that we can be for Him in all that we do. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Matthew your blog made me think on these words:

    Teach us, good Lord, to serve you as you deserve :
    to give, and not to count the cost,
    to fight, and not to heed the wounds,
    to toil, and not to seek for rest,
    to labor, and not to ask for any reward,
    save that of knowing that we do your will.
    — Ignatius of Loyola


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

