Posted by: peebles | April 28, 2009

Matthew 14: 31 (NIV) Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him.

Matthew 14: 31 (NIV) Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him.

Can you imagine Peter walking out to Jesus on the water? While the other disciples who stayed in the boat looked on at Peter in astonishment, as he climbed out of the boat and stood firm on water. Then one step after an other without falling into the lake, as he walked on the water towards Jesus, as the winds and waves were roaring and tossing around him. But Jesus was right there with in him in the midst of it all. The Bible says in Matthew 14:30 to 31  (NIV) But when he (Peter) saw the wind and the waves, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord save me!”  Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him.

Peter not only stepped out of the boat in faith, and walked on the water to meet Jesus. But, he also remained standing firm on the water until both he and Jesus climbed into the boat. 

Notice if you will, Jesus never said to Peter, “Hold on, I will be with you in a minute.” Or even, “I am busy just now, I will get to you as soon as I can.” But immediately, without delay, without hesitation, see how swiftly Jesus came to the aid of Peter. Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. 

When we cried out to the Lord to save us, to rescue us, to reach out His hand and save us from falling, immediately Jesus will reach out His hand to rescue us and lift us up.

Many of us may have this testimony, I was right on the cliff-edge, ready to fall, when God grabbed and held me. If God hadn’t been there for me, I never would have made it. The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,” your love, God, took hold and held me fast. When I was upset and beside myself, you calmed me down and cheered me up. The Bible says in Psalm 18:16 (NIV) He reached down from on high and took hold of me. 

Over my years as follower of Jesus Christ, I have heard one testimony one after, all about the saving grace of Jesus. Many people can bare witness to having had that sinking feeling, but in their time of need they called out to Jesus, and He reached out His hand to them and lifted them up.

James Rowe (1865-1933) once wrote these wonderful lyrics to an old gospel hymn:

I was sinking deep in sin, sinking to rise no more,

Overwhelmed by my guilt within, mercy I did implore,

Then the Master of the sea, heard my despairing cry,

Christ my Saviour lifted me, now safe am I.

Love lifted me, love lifted me,

When no one but Christ could help,

Love lifted me. 

When we face the trails of life, and the storms come crashing around us. Jesus is right there standing with us. We have a love that will not let us go! We have His love to rescue us. To lift us up, and make us strong in Him. His hand will reach out to us and save us. He will never let go of us! 

 Matt and Beth Redman wrote this amazing song, with these inspiring lyrics:

O no, You never let go, through the calm and through the storm,
O no, You never let go, in every high and every low,
O no, You never let go, Lord, You never let go of me.
 

 

My friend, just as Peter cried out, “Lord, save me!” Then immediately Jesus reached out His hand and caught him. So Jesus will immediately reach out His hand to you in your time of need. He will never let go of you!  In His hand you are safe, from the storms of life. If today you are experiencing that sinking feeling, then cry out to Jesus. Let Him rescue you, let Him reach out His hand to you and lift you up. He will always listens too and answers those who call out to Him.

Take heart, from out text for today, see how swiftly Jesus will come to your aid and rescue you, when you call out in prayer to Him, just as He came to Peter’s aid and rescued him in Matthew 14: 31 (NIV) Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.

 


Responses

  1. GOD BLESS YOU ALL AND I THINK YOUR SITE IS GRATE PLASE KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GOD BLESS BISHOP, A.TAYLOR


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

