Posted by: peebles | August 3, 2012

Psalm 144:2 (NIV) ~ He is my loving God and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield, in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.

Did you notice how many times the Psalmist makes this verse so personal? He was able to do this because of His personal covenant relationship with a covenant keeping God? My loving God, my fortress, my stronghold, my deliverer, my shield, in whom I take refuge, who subdues under me, those who are hostile against me.

First of all, the Psalmist describes God as a loving God, a God who cares, a God who wants the best for you, a God who will never let go of you, a God who wants to bless you with all that He can muster.

If you are in need, He will supply all your needs.

If you are sick, He will heal you.

If you have a heart broken, He will bind up the broken-hearted.

If you need rest, He is your peace.

If you have foe who stands against you, He will give the victory.

If you need a place of safety, He is your refuge and strong tower.

If you need to be saved from all your troubles, He is your Divine Deliverer.

If you are ever in want, then, go to Him for He is your all Sufficient One.

God wants you to know His peace, His protection, His provision and His power. He wants you to know Him as your Deliverer and the One who is your all Sufficient One. The Bible says in Psalm 54:7 (NIV), “You have delivered me from all my troubles, and my eyes have looked in triumph on my foes.” Once again, we see another Divine promise from God to not only be your Deliverer, but also give you complete victory over your foes, while showing Himself strong on your behalf.

Twice in Scripture King David used the exact same words to glorify God: once in 2 Samuel 22:2 (KJV), “And he said, ‘The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer.’” And then again, in Psalm 18:2 (NIV), “The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer.” On each occasion, God showed himself to be a faithful God who not only delivered David, but also brought about a great victory.

My friend, our text for today is taken from the latter part of King David’s life in which He testifies to the faithfulness and awesome power of God by declaring in Psalm 144:2 (NIV), “He is my loving God and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield, in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.” This same God who subdued David’s enemies, who delivered him from all his troubles and gave him one magnificent victory after another, will do the same for you.

God bless you my friend, Matthew

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

