Posted by: peebles | May 24, 2012

Philippians 3:13 to 14 (NIV) Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal.

Just a few days ago while I was out on my bicycle riding in the open countryside, with my eyes fixed forward, fully focused on reaching my goal, I happened to glance into the mirror on my handle bar to see if there was anything behind me. It was not until then that I realized just how far I had come on my journey and how much things had changed around me.

In your walk with the LORD, your eyes are always fixed on going forward, forgetting what is behind, you press on, never standing still, always progressing forward in the faith, moving forward, crossing new boundaries and thresholds. It is not until you pause and look into the mirror of life that you see just how far you have come on your journey in your walk with the LORD. Only then do you see the amazing change in scenery which the LORD has brought into your life.

The past things are so far behind you that they seem like a lifetime ago. Not only have you progressed and gone forward, but just like someone who spends time exercising, as you have grown in the things of the LORD you have grown stronger, you have built up your spiritual muscles in the most holy faith.

It is good to rest and thankful to the LORD. This wonderful verse of Scripture, 1 Samuel 7:12 (NIV), says, “Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen. He named it Ebenezer, saying, ‘Thus far the LORD has helped us.’” The LORD who has helped you thus far will continue to help you, as the old gospel hymn says, “‘Twas grace that brought me safe thus far and grace will lead me home.”

My friend, forgetting what is behind I press on, stop looking in the rear view mirror and dwelling on your past, as you cant go forward when you are looking back all the time. It is always good to have goals to achieve, to have something for which to aim. How much better is it, then, to have a heavenly goal, to keep pressing forward in the LORD, to have your eyes fixed on Jesus, to be built up in the most holy faith and to be strong in the LORD? When you press on for your goal in God you will notice that your past will stay in the past as you move forward and see God do so many amazing things in your life.  You will notice the scenery around you change as you press forward in the LORD, in your journey of faith into new adventures in the Holy Spirit. Let our text for today encourage you, let it strengthen you and help you to press on in the LORD, crossing new boundaries and new thresholds. Let your good confession of faith be the same as the Apostle Paul who said in Philippians 3: 13 to 14 (NIV) Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, “I press on toward the goal.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

