Posted by: peebles | October 6, 2010

Isaiah 46:4 (NIV) ~ I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.

Isaiah 46:4 (NIV) ~ I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you. 

Have you ever felt low? Have you ever felt as if your batteries are run down? Or that you feel battle-weary? But, are you afraid to tell anyone, or ask for help because people think that you are so strong all of the time and can cope with anything? Or is it only me who has ever felt like that? 

There is an amazing song by Twila Paris, called, “The Warrior is a Child”, with these amazing lyrics:
Lately I’ve been winning battles left and right,

But even winners can get wounded in the fight,
People say that I’m amazing, strong beyond my years,
But they don’t see inside of me, I’m hiding all the tears,

And they don’t know that I go running home when I fall down,
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around,
I drop my sword and cry for just a while,

‘Cause deep inside this amour,
The warrior is a child.

Unafraid because His armour is the best,

But even soldiers need a quiet place to rest,
People say that I’m amazing, never face retreat,
But they don’t see the enemies that lay me at His feet,
 

And they don’t know that I go running home when I fall down,
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around,
I drop my sword and cry for just a while,

‘Cause deep inside this armour,
The warrior is a child.
 

There have been times when I have cried, when no one has been looking, and times when I have wondered how I am going to cope with things. I have mountain-top experiences like everyone else; I also have valley experiences, too. Yes, I have felt the pain of personal betrayal. This thought comes to mind:  we no longer stone anyone with hard rocks, but instead, we are stoned by the hard rocks of criticism and rejection. 

What is the old saying here in Great Britain? “Stand tall; don’t let them see that they are getting to you. Come on now, be a real man; stiff upper lip and all that.” But the truth is, I am not as tough on the inside as I appear to be. I, too, need to be carried in the loving arms of Jesus. I, too, need His grace to help me through. I, too, need to know that He is my Rescuer, My Rock, in times of trouble. I, too, need His strength, more and more each day, to face the challenges that life throws at me. 

In times when I feel low, I remember the comforting words from the old gospel hymn written by Joseph M. Scriven (1820-1886), called “What a Friend We Have in Jesus”: 

What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry, everything to God in prayer!
O, what peace we often forfeit, O, what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry, everything to God in prayer.
  

My friend, Jesus is my strength when I am weak. When I fall down He picks me up and when I am dry He fills my cup. He keeps me going when times are tough. He is the uplifter of my head. He strengthens my resolve and His grace is sufficient for me, for His power is make perfect in my weakness. 

When I read our text for today I am encouraged and strengthened just to know that promise of God which will always give me strength, and will comfort me, nourish me, build me up, lift me up and rejuvenate me, from Isaiah 46:4 (NIV), “I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” Today, may you know His strength and His power which lifts you up and sustains you. May He stoop down from on high and carry you in His arms of love. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. A great word & just what I needed this day!
    You are such a blessing to the Body of Christ, Matthew!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

