Posted by: peebles | May 2, 2010

Psalm 5:3 (KJV) My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

Psalm 5:3 (KJV) My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

Before my eyes opened this morning, my heart was awake talking with the Lord. Before a foot was put out of my bed, I started the day in prayer. My heart longs for the Lord, it yearns for Him, to know Him more. From the very start, my day is laid before for the Lord, He is given the first fruits of the day, not the leftovers. I want to hear the gentle whisper of His voice; I want to know His guidance, His leading, His strength and His ways for my life for today. The Bible says in Isaiah 50:4 (NIV) He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught.  

Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty,

Early in the morning my song shall rise to thee. 

The Bible says in Luke 21:38 (NIV) And all the people came early in the morning to hear him at the temple. They came early in the morning to hear the words of Jesus. It is better to start the day with Jesus, to spend time in His presence to prepare you for the day ahead, to lay your prayers and daily itinerary, your daily schedule, your daily work pattern, and your daily routine before Him, to ask His blessing and His help, than to rush off and think we can do it all on our own without Him. 

David knew how important it was to give God the first fruits of the day, to worship before Him, and to seek help for what lay head. He understood the value of knowing His faithfulness, and His blessing early in the morning. The Bible says in Psalm 92:1- 2 (NIV) It is good to praise the Lord and make music to Your name, O Most High, to proclaim Your love in the morning and Your faithfulness at night.

T O Chisholm (1866 to 1960) once penned the words to this beautiful hymn.

Great is Thy faithfulness!  Great is Thy faithfulness! Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided. Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

My friend, let us start our day with the Lord in prayer and praise. Let us lay our day before Him, and may He give us His strength to sustain us, and His wisdom on how to deal with things. May He teach us, help us, and by the Holy Spirit guide us, for His glory. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. I want to have a better relationship with Jesus..


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

