Posted by: peebles | February 1, 2010

Proverbs 30:26 (KJV) ~ The conies are but a feeble folk, yet make they their houses in the rocks.

Proverbs 30:26 (KJV) ~ The conies are but a feeble folk, yet make they their houses in the rocks. 

The coney was a small rodent, which was considered to be an unclean animal of little strength, yet it made its home in the rocks. How symbolic a picture of sinful man does this verse portray? We are all deemed unclean before a holy God, as the Bible says in Romans 3:23 (KJV), “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” Just as the coney sought refuge, protection, deliverance and safety within the rock, so every sinner must seek refuge in the Rock, Christ Jesus. Only in Jesus will our sinful, unclean soul be made clean, washed in His precious blood. 

The conies, as our verse for today describes, were a feeble folk, yet they found strength not in themselves, but in the rock. The Bible says in Psalm 61:2 (KJV), “Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” Lead me to the Rock of Ages and let me hide myself in the cleft, let me hide my sinful, feeble soul deep within the Rock, and there, and there alone, may I find forgiveness and strength in the Rock that is higher than I. Let me make Him my home, were my resting place shall be forevermore. 

My friend, the book of Proverbs in full of wisdom and sound advice, may we learn from the coney that though it was a feeble creature, it made its home in the rock. May we come, one and all, in our feeble, sinful state and make our home in the Rock of Ages, Christ Jesus, where we will find forgiveness, acceptance, strength and love from the One who gives us protection, deliverance and salvation. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

