Posted by: peebles | July 14, 2009

John 16:13 (NIV) ~ But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears.

John 16:13 (NIV) ~ But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears. 

Come Holy Spirit, guide me in His truth today, help me know His will for my life and help me do all I can for the Kingdom of God. I love you Holy Spirit. Today, please tell me what my ABBA Father is saying, and whisper in my ear those gentle words of guidance. 

Smith Wiggelsworth once said, “Some people read their Bibles in Greek and Hebrew, but I like to read mine in the Holy Spirit.” If the Holy Spirit wrote the Bible, then be sure he will guide you and help you understand more about Jesus. The Holy Spirit will help you glorify Jesus even as you read the Bible, for it says in John 16:14 (NIV), “He will bring glory to me by taking from what is mine and making it known to you.” 

In my childhood years, I loved the Walt Disney film, “Pinocchio”, and in all reverence, I used to think what it would be like to have someone like Jiminy Cricket as your guide, your conscience. I even used to sing the simple song, “Always let your conscience be your guide.” But just like Pinocchio, when we do not listen and do our own things, we can find ourselves no longer in the centre of God’s will. Over the years of being a Christian, I have learned to listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit. Furthermore, I do believe in part with the song from Pinocchio, “Always let your conscience be your guide,” but only if it lines up with the word of God. 

There is a fantastic book which I have read about twelve times now. It is a book by John Glass who is the General Superintendent of Elim Pentecostal churches. The book is called Amrach and the Paraclete. “Paraclete” is another name of the Holy Spirit. The book highlights the power of a strong relationship with the Holy Spirit and learning to talk to the Him and listen to His voice, as he tells you the will of the Lion (Jesus, the Lion of the tribe of Judah). 

The Bible says in Ephesians 4:30 (NIV),And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God.” Do not turn a deaf ear to his guidance. Let me, just for a brief moment, paint a picture with words for you. Imagine if you will, that I was talking to you, and you kept ignoring my voice, or paid very little or no attention to my voice, until it became just a distant small voice, so small that you struggled to hear it anymore, and you did not want to do what I was trying to tell you. How do you think I would feel? Would I not feel grieved? The Holy Spirit is a person who is with us. Although we cannot see him, we can feel him and hear his sound, just like the wind. Let the Holy Spirit guide you in all truth, listen to his voice and be willing to yield to his teaching and leading. 

Grant, oh grant thy Spirit’s teaching,

That I may not go astray,

Till, the gate of heaven reaching,

Earth and sin are passed away. 

My friend, may we learn to listen to, and follow, the guidance of the Holy Spirit as he tells us the will of our ABBA Father, and fills us with fire and power from on high to be His witnesses and do His will. 

Holy Spirit, with light divine,

Shine upon this heart of mine. 

Holy Spirit, please help us today to know His will and guide us in all truth. Lead us and help us live a life worthy of the calling we have received, so our lives will glorify Jesus. Let us be filled with fire and a passion to do the will of our ABBA Father, and win souls. Holy Spirit, bathe me, refresh me and fill me anew, lead me to Jesus’ feet. Spirit, wash over me, fill me afresh, and fill me anew. 

Spirit of the living God, fall afresh on me,

Fill me anew, fill me anew;

Spirit of the Lord, fall afresh on me. 

 God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Thank you Matthew for your insight on the Holy Spirit. To many people ignore Him; and we need Him to guide, teach, and fill us to overflowing. I pray we will never grieve Him but listen intently to every whisper.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

