Posted by: peebles | April 22, 2009

Nehemiah 8:10 (KJV) ~ For the joy of the LORD is your strength.

Nehemiah 8:10 (KJV) ~ For the joy of the LORD is your strength.

In John 16: 20 (NIV), Jesus says, “I tell you the truth, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy”, then He goes on to say, “And no one will take away your joy [your happiness, your gladness, and your rejoicing in me]. 

He gives us a joy which is unspeakable, a joy that over flows, a joy which keeps us going inspite of hardship and through the trials of life. His joy is a joy which the world can neither understand, nor can it take away from the saints of God, for we have something in which to be joyful, and that is the fact that in Him we have a new life. When someone asks you why you are smiling, why you seem so happy, why you sing with joy, you can tell them, “I sing because I am happy, I sing because I am free, I sing because I have a new life in Jesus. I sing because I am saved, sanctified, Holy Spirit filled, Jesus on my mind, I have a new life!”

The Bible says in Habakkuk 3:18 (KJV), “Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation”. Also in Psalm 35:9  (KJV), “And my soul shall be joyful in the LORD: it shall rejoice in his salvation”. 

I will enter His gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter His courts with praise,

I will say this is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice for He has made me glad! 

In the Book of Acts, the people were filled with Joy in the Holy Spirit  (Acts 13:52: “And the disciples were filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit”). The Kingdom of heaven gives you joy in the Holy Spirit, a joy in Jesus. Also in Acts 2:28, we read, “You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence”. The Greek word for joy is, euphrosyne, meaning gladness, joy that fills you with rejoicing. It is exuberant joy! Joy produces strength, and in His strength, we can face anything! 

The Bible says in Isaiah 61:7 (NIV), “They will inherit a double portion, and everlasting joy shall be theirs”. The Hebrew word for joy is, samha, meaning a celebration of joy, make merry, delight in and be joyful. Also in Isaiah 61:10 (KJV), “I will greatly rejoice in the LORD, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for He hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, He hath covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decketh himself with ornaments, and as a bride adorneth herself with her jewels”. Perhaps a modern paraphrase might read like this, “I will sing for joy in God, explode in praise from deep in my soul! He dressed me up in a suit of salvation, he outfitted me in a robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom who puts on a tuxedo and a bride a jeweled tiara. For as the earth bursts with spring wildflowers, and as a garden cascades with blossoms, so the Master, God, brings righteousness into full bloom and puts praise on display before the nations”. 

He has given me a crown of beauty for ashes,

The oil of gladness instead of mourning,

And a garment of praise instead of the spirit of despair,

We stand and lift up our hands, for the joy of the Lord is our strength,
We bow down and worship Him now, how great, how awesome is He!

My friend, our strength comes from the Lord, our joy comes from Him. When I feel a bit down, or things try and get on top of me, or circumstances try and get the better of me, I look to Jesus for inspiration,  and I life my voice to Him and sing. His joy keeps me going, His joy keeps me smiling through the hard times and His joy cheers my soul. The joy of knowing Jesus, the joy of salvation, is an overflowing joy, as our text for today says in Nehemiah 8:10 (KJV), “For the joy of the LORD is your strength”. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. My 31 year old son, Ojodale Musa, went to be with the Lord three weeks ago. The grief is unspeakable. I asked God to show me what to do and He gave me Nehemiah 8:10. In my effort to get a clearer meaning of this word of God, I went to google and found this message. It has blessed me. Please pray for the Holy Spirit to penetrate this grief and give me joy for the strength that I need now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

