Posted by: peebles | March 22, 2009

1 Corinthians 9:22 (KJV) To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

1 Corinthians 9:22 (KJV) To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

That I might by all means save some.  

You can almost hear the heart-felt desperation from the Apostle Paul, as he tries to save as many as possible, from flames of hell. His letters to the churches and his zeal for reaching the lost is inspiring. 

I have often wondered how many non-Christian friends I still have since becoming a Christian? Am I still reaching the lost? Do I still have a passion and a hunger within me, that compels me to reach out to the lost with the powerful message of the gospel?

We may never save everyone that we meet, however, we can try and save as many as we can. For here is a heaven to gained and hell to be shunned. The Bible says in Jude 1:23 (NIV) snatch others from the fire and save them. 

We are not called to stay within the fortified walls of the church building. But rather, we are called to reach the lost in the love and compassion of the Lord Jesus Christ, with the powerful message of the good news. 

Napoleon once said, “the side which stays within its fortified walls is already been beaten.” 

The great commission was not just given to a chosen few, but to us all.  Jesus said in Mark 16:15 (NIV) Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.

In the story of the Good Samaritan in Luke chapter 10:25 to 37. The Samaritan went to the wounded man. He went to where he was. He reached out in compassion, to the wounded man and saved him. For he surely would have died if he had been left all alone hurting, bleeding on the cold Jericho road.

Time and time again we read in the Scriptures of Jesus reaching out to people, where they were. It is said of Jesus Matthew 11:18 (NIV) that He is, ‘a friend of tax collectors and sinners.’ Also in Luke 19:10 (KJV) For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost. He entered their world by going to where they were, to share the good news of the Kingdom of God. 

The world we can’t enter is a world we can’t win!

There was not many worlds which the Apostle Paul refused to enter with gospel. The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 9:19 (MSG) Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily become a servant to any and all in order to reach a wide range of people: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralised—whoever. I didn’t take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ—but I entered their world and tried to experience things from their point of view. I’ve become just about every sort of servant there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life. I did all this because of the Message. I didn’t just want to talk about it; I wanted to be in on it! 

My friend, how many of us lived in a world of sin before we became a Christian? Yet someone loved us enough in the Lord to reach into our world so we may be saved! My we be more like the Apostle Paul, filled with Holy Spirit, empowered from on high to be His witnesses. So we can will go and tell as many people as possible about the good news of Jesus Christ. May we be more like Jesus and be a friend to the tax collectors and sinners. So we can in some way win as many as we can, through the convicting power of the Holy Spirit. So in time we too can say in the words of the Apostle Paul from 1 Corinthians 9:22 (KJV), To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.



Responses

  1. Thank you so much, I have a presentation to make to our young people re the relevance of the church to youth and this has helped,e tremendously…….cause its not the message…….its the method of delivery


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

