Posted by: peebles | November 20, 2008

Psalm 3:3 (KJV), “But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.”

Psalm 3:3 (KJV),But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.” 

Have you ever let your head go down when it just seems as if nothing is going right? Have you ever felt as if everything is falling apart, and you’re stuck between a rock and hard place, not knowing what to do next? David, in our verse for today, felt the pain of personal betrayal, he knew the sting of disappointment, the heartache and hurt of being let down by someone close to him. When we experience times like these, turn to the Lord, for He is a very present help in times of trouble. He is your shield and the lifter up of your head.  

 

Billy Strauss wrote the words to this song called, ‘change in my life.’ 

Standing cold and scared on top of Blue Hill,

There came one moment when I lost my will.

I prayed for mercy, “Lord, please take me away.

Or give me sunshine where I only see gray.”

The past had a hold on me, it can’t be denied;

And the changes didn’t come easily. 

I’ve been lonely, I’ve been cheated, I’ve been misunderstood.

I’ve been washed up, I’ve been put down, and told I’m no good.

But with you I belong, ‘cause you help me be strong.

There’s a change in my life since you came along.  

When Jesus comes into your life, a change happens for the better. He lifts from you sin and shame, He lifts you up from the mire, He sets your feet upon a Rock and makes your footsteps firm. You no longer have to feel as if you are inadequate, or you cannot do anything right, nor do you have to feel unwanted or unworthy, for in Jesus you are loved, you belong to Him, He has made you worthy! Your hope is in Him.  

The Bible says in Philippians 4:13 (NIV), “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me”! For God has not given you a spirit of fear, but a Spirit of power, love and a sound mind. He cheers your soul and lifts your head up! Hallelujah! Glory to His name forevermore! 

My friend, listen to the words from the very lips of Jesus Himself, in John 16:33 (NIV), “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have over come the world.” Whatever we may face that may cause us to feel abandoned, downtrodden or, even disappointed to the point our heads begin to drop, take heart and let our text for today cheer your soul. Let it muster within you, a fresh stirring. May it encourage you, may it fan into flame your passion for Jesus, and cause you to be strengthened from on high, from the Lord of Hosts, Himself. May He lift you up above it all, and cause you to walk tall in Him. For the Lord is your confidence and your very great reward. The Bible says in Psalm 3:3 (KJV),But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head”.  

God bless you my friend, Matthew.

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

