Posted by: peebles | September 26, 2008

Matthew 23:37 (NIV), “How often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.”

Matthew 23:37 (NIV), “How often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.” 

How God longs to gather children under His wings of protection. How long, how often, has He stood with His arms open wide to a world that is not will to come unto Him. The Bible says in Psalm 91:4 (NIV), “He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.” 

How long will people reject the protection that God provides? How long will people turn away from the living God, turn away from His loving arms, turn away from His favour and blessing to do their own thing? Can’t you just hear the longing from the heart of God, to gather you under His wings, to gather you under His wings as family? This is a cry from the heart of God, “How often have I longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing. You were not willing to come under My protection, My loving kindness, under My Kingship, My faithfulness and My loving embrace.” 

My friend, in our text for today, God is still calling out to you today. The Bible says in Matthew 23:37 (NIV), “How often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.” Can you just picture, a mother hen, reaching out to gather her chicks under her wings, to protect them, to shelter them from all danger and keep them safe? So God wants you and I to come under His wings of love, where we find that He is our refuge and shelter.  

Today even as you read this, may you see for yourself, the kindness and compassion of an awesome God who is calling out to you, “Will you come unto me, come under my wings of protection, under My wings of Salvation, where you will find acceptance, love, provision, protection and peace?” 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.

 


Leave a comment

Categories