Posted by: peebles | July 23, 2008

Psalm 91:1 (NIV), “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.”

Psalm 91:1 (NIV), “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” 

This Psalm has become a favourite Bible read for many people. It is good to note that in Psalm 91:1, the rich promises of this whole chapter are dependent upon one meeting exactly the conditions of these first two verses.

Psalm 91:1 (NIV), “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty (EL SHADDAI). I will say of the LORD, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust’.” 

There is a simple song about these two verses of scripture; it goes something like this:

He who dwells, He who dwells, in the shelter of most high,

Will rest in the shadow; will rest in the shadow, the shadow of the Almighty,

And I’ll say of the LORD, “He is my refuge”, and I’ll say of the LORD, “He is my strength”,

And I’ll make of the Most High One my dwelling place, and I’ll say, “He is my God”, I’ll say, “He is my God, in whom I trust”.

To dwell in Him, in the secret place under the shadow of the Almighty, resting in Him, safe and secure, is all I would ever want. The Bible says in Colossians 3:16 (KJV),Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly”. Spend time in His presence, in the secret place, humbly before God.

Imagine being covered from the winds that buffet against you, the harshness, and the ferocious tempest that rages against your soul, to find rest and protection under His wings, safe secure and warm. This is a picture of loving devotion towards you from your ABBA Father.

Also, it’s like someone fighting for you in the heat of the battle. He will be your shield, extinguishing all the fiery darts from the evil one that are aimed at you. God will be your refuge. He will be your rampart. If you make the LORD your dwelling place, He will command His angles to guard you in all your ways.

My friend, you may ask, “Why would God do all this just for me?” Your answer can be found in Psalm 91:14 to 16 (Amplified Bible), Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore will I deliver him; I will set him on high, because he knows and understands My name [has a personal knowledge of My mercy, love, and kindness--trusts and relies on Me, knowing I will never forsake him, no, never]. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him My salvation.”

Learn to dwell in the shelter of the Most High, and rest in the shadow of “EL SHADDAI” Almighty God. Dwell in God, and learn to let Him dwell in you. From that relationship, you will find a deeper peace and purpose for your life. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew

 


Responses

  1. Yes the almighty is the dwelling placa.my prayer is may that almighty keep me safe from eve doing,and prayer is may away from evel doing,and keep my familly safe from the power of the Devel,


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

