Posted by: peebles | July 6, 2008

Isaiah 43: 18 to 19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!”

Isaiah 43: 18 to 19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!”  

We cannot change the past, but we can do something about our future. God is saying, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See I am doing anew thing!”

So many people are caught up in the past; they let the past hold them prisoner, so much so that they find it hard to move on from it.  Other people become stagnate, not wanting to go forward, they are happy in their “comfort zone”.  

I can remember watching a nature programme, about the hippopotamus. They would stay in the same lake, until it dried up, and all it did was live in the past memories of a lake of water. Some even died where they stood, not wanting to go forward, because they wanted to live in the past, where it had always been comfortable for them. 

I know of some people who live in past blessings, talking about what God used to do, and what it was like years ago. God is a God of the “now”, today His blessing are for us to enjoy and live in. Each and everyday we should reach out to God for a new blessing, a new in soaking of His Holy Spirit, to be filled daily, with something new in God. 

The Apostle Paul says this in Philippians 3:12-14 (NIV), “I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus”. 

My friend, let these words from God minister to your heart and soul today, Isaiah 43: 18 to 19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!”  Let God open up unto you a whole new beginning where you can step forward; away from the failings, away from the broken dreams, away from the sadness and disappointments of yesterday. Let Him fill you with a new hope!  

Isaiah 43: 18 to 19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!” He will make a way in the desert, He will make streams flows in the wasteland and bring new fruitfulness into your life. He can make all things new! 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.

 


Responses

  1. Hi! just read your blog. Godbless! ^^

  2. Today when I faced a difficult decision upon waking I felt God speak this verse to me. I had no idea where it was in the bible and spent time trying to find it. I came on to my computer and came across this site. As I read the whole verse and the thoughts that you had put down I felt God speak to me even more. Thank you.

  3. Hi … I believe its a reminder that the our LORD wants us to

    “Forget the former things; do not dwell in the past …”

    Sometimes when the thoughts of the past came to our minds – sins, wrong decisions, past actions … it really dampen our motivation.

    Praise JESUS, Holy Spirit and Daddy GOD !

    “Behold, I will create new heavens and a new earth. The former things will not be remembered, nor will they come to mind.” Isaiah 65 :17

    “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea.” Rev 12:1

    I guess Apostle Paul might have faced a similiar situation when he remember his past deeds. Therefore being inspired by the LORD , Paul wrote the following :-

    Philippians 3:12-14 (NIV), “I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus”.

    By the way, I encourage Christians continue to write as they being encouraged and inspired. You may not know your posting may encourage someone today.

    For example, the above article was published in Nov 2006. It’s still encouraging somebody … just look at the comments dated Nov 2009, Feb 2010 , …

    Praise ! My fellow Brothers and Sisters in CHRIST ! Keep praying and keep writing ( blogs , emails , etc )

  4. These verses mean a lot to me. But how do i apply them in the context of an unequally yoked marriage of 20 years?
    Christine

  5. Each time I read this, I feel unburdened.

  6. a new beginning for me and my family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

