Posted by: peebles | October 18, 2007

Psalm 4: 8 (NIV) “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety”.

Psalm 4: 8 (NIV) “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety”. There is the one thing that we all need from time to time, and that is a good refreshing sleep. Psalm 3: 5 (NIV) says, “I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me”. The Bible also says in Proverbs 3: 24 (NIV) says this, “When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet,” imagine that, your sleep will be sweet, in other words, ‘sweet dreams’.

When I was a young boy my dad taught me a simple prayer as I laid my head upon the pillow, my dad would say, “As I lay down to sleep, I pray that Lord my soul to keep”. But, if something was on my mind I would toss and turn all night just thinking it over, and over in my head. However, if I had just taken the Bibles advice in Psalm 4: 4 (NIV) “When your on your beds at night, search your hearts and be silent “. Then, I would have had a good nights sleep.

In the words from a dear and precious old hymn written by Joseph Scriven (1819-86)

What friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!

What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer!

O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear

All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer!
                                                                                                      

There are times when we all need a good night‘s sleep, to help us rest and refresh ourselves. Peter, when he was in Jail; he had such a trust in God, that even though he was to face trial the next day. He slept in such a deep sleep. The Bible says in Acts 12 :7  (NIV)” Suddenly an angel of the Lord appeared and a light shone in the cell. He struck Peter on the side and woke him up “.

There is a peace in God that helps us face anything, even in the midst of a storm in the book of Mark chapter 4 :38 (NV) it says of the Lord, “Jesus was in the stern sleeping on a cushion”. It is all about turning things over to the Lord, about trusting him with everything. The Bible says in Isaiah 26: 3 to 4 (KJV) “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusts in thee. Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength, ” He is also our everlasting peace. 

My friend, as you lay down to sleep tonight. I pray that the Lord gives you sweet dreams, a restful sleep and when you wake up your will be refreshed in the Lord.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. […] peebles wrote a fantastic post today on “I will lie down and sleep in peace, with sweet dreams.”Here’s ONLY a quick extractAs I lay down to sleep, I pray that Lord my soul to keep “. Sometimes if something was on my mind I would toss and turn all night just thinking it over, and over in my head. However if I had just taken the Bibles advice in Psalm 4 v 4 … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

