Posted by: peebles | September 18, 2007

Hosea 4: 6 (KJV) My people perish from a lack of knowledge.

Hosea 4: 6 (KJV) My people perish from a lack of knowledge. 

Its one thing to know your Bible, but its an other thing to KNOW the God of the Bible.

Charles Haddon Spurgeon once said, ”The scripture is our inexhaustible textbook, the Lord Jesus our boundless subject and the Holy Spirit our divine infinite helper“.

When Jesus had gone forty days in the desert fasting and praying. Jesus was hungry and at a weak point. One translation says, “he was faint with hunger “. The Devil, the tempter came to him. The question I put to you dear friends is this, when does the Devil tempts you the most ? Its at your weakest moment, its at your weakest point.

How did Jesus handle this moment? He brought God into it. He quoted the Bible, God’s word. Each time the Devil tried to trap Jesus, Jesus would respond, ”It is written!” 

Many people are also robbed of blessings that the Bible tells us are ours in Christ Jesus. But because we don’t know it, we never truly live in them?

There was this man in the early 1900 who went on a cruise from England to America. He purchased the ticket. However every night when it was meal time he would stay in his cabin. Because he thought that his ticket only entitled to his travel on the ship, and the cost of the food was not included. So he brought his won food with him to last the whole journey, from England to America. On the last day before the ship reached America the Captain ask him why he had never seen him at meal time. The man explained his reason to the Captain. The Captain replied, ”Sir the ticket included every meal as well“. The man was robbed because of a lack of knowledge.

Charles Haddon Sprugeon tells the story so beautifully of the time he visited a old woman’s house. She was once a servant in the house of a very rich man. He had passed away, and as a gift gave her a piece of  paper. The old woman could not read, but thought the design was so pretty that she framed it. When he visited the old woman he looked at the framed piece of paper, it was a cheque. The old woman never knew that she would never have to ask for another penny off anyone, or that her grandchildren would never go hunger again. But she was robbed because of a lack of knowledge. 

My friend, don’t let the Devil rob you out of the riches of the Lord because of a lack of knowledge. Because of you not knowing, what is yours in Christ Jesus, by the riches of his grace.

When the devil  tries to attack you at your weakest point, your weakest moment. Do what Jesus did, bring God into it. Know your Bible, quote it to him, say, ”It is written!”

The Bible says in Acts 19: 20 (KJV) ” So mighty grew that word of God that it prevailed.” God’s word is an over-coming word. When we get to know more of God’s words and His power we overcome, whatever is thrown at us. Because we know that God’s word will prevail, it will overcome.

Do not only know your Bible, but spend time getting to know the God of the Bible. That you may grow in the knowledge of knowing Jesus, and all that he has made available to you by his blessings and his grace. In doing so let the word of God dwell in your richly that you may know what Jesus Christ has divinely and most graciously given you through the blessings of His divine exchange, at the cross of Calvary. Know and live in the power of being a child of the living God. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. I enjoyed this teaching on the knowledge of God’s Word and Understanding of God

  2. Thank you for posting these enlightening words. I am my brother’s keeper.

  3. was really looking for some enlighten words and i am please to say this ha done it, but still loking for more

  4. It is a blessing reading inspirational sermons that gives me hope and strength of preaching.

    May God of glory grant you abundant grace as you continue with His work of spreading the gospel.

  5. This is a powerful post, Matthew! There are so many people who are praying for a solution and yet they refuse to look when God’s word is right in front of them. It is sad how even believers are blinded by the enemy’s nefarious ways.

  6. I love this great work you are doing .it gives me inspiration for my book writting.

  7. I’m blessed and encouraged in the Lord. God bless you.

  8. I am blessed by your message. may God help me that i may seek Him and read His word to know Him better.
    God bless you abundantly.

  9. Indeed am not excepted in the case of that prince who lived most his life serving at the gate post in his father’s palace! Many usher others into the relm of greatness but never live beyound their stagnant post because of diformity of their minds. Truely am blessed by your post. Pls create a wider site to expand this ministry which God has laid through you. Bless you!

  10. This is great and inspiring, God bless you

  11. Thank you very much for this message. I heard someone say “My people perish from a lack of knowledge.” in a speech, and in my heart, I had a feeling it was in the Bible. So I looked it up, and behold, it was in the Bible. I will definitely look for the other blessings I have through Jesus Christ, my saviour. Be a blessing, always.

  12. we should keep on reading to know about our God. the bible says everything is prepared for us already. Before the creation of Man, we could see God first created everything for man, then he created Man.

    We will know what is already planned by reading bible. It’s the word of God and through this God speaks to us.

  13. My people perish from a of lack of knowledge. This is a very powerful scripture. Thanks for your teaching on this scripture.

  14. Thanks for the lesson.

  15. This message is so true, and was so needed! It’s a GREAT reminder that the enemy’s job is to steal, kill, and destroy… and he doesn’t fight fair, that’s why he attacks When you are weak. This message reminds us, if we are trusting GOD, staying in His word, when we are weak we will be strong, GOD is our strenght!

    Lack of knowledge is ingorance, and ignorance is darkness

    Thank you for your heart for GOD Mathew

  16. This is what i needed to read this morning before i start my work. I would like to add that we struggle with all sorts of things especially with sexual and other forms of purity without knowing the way to avert these. we need to come to the knowledge of God’s word as put in Psalms 119:9-16. Please meditate on this as soon as you can

  17. I wish more Christians can be exposed to such sites as this,even pastors so they can teach the word not their minds to the church of God…. This is powerfull

  18. God bless you my Brother for this inspiring piece.
    rev. message, lagos
    – Nigeria

  19. Awesome power from on HIGH!

  20. The word of God is powerful and alive, it revives the perishing souls, it brings to a new life for those who trust.
    May God bless you as we learn his word from you on daily basis.

  21. Very thought provoking and very easy to comprehend! Thank you for sharing this word!

  22. Matthew:

    Nice blog.

    As a brother in Christ, may I ask you a favor?

    I have started a blog. http://www.todaysbibleblog.com Will you check it out?

    That is NOT the favor. The favor is this. I could sure use some tips on site development. I am so-so tech savy. I am not fluent in HTML or some of the terms, so please keep it simple if you decide to help. You may leave me a message on the site.

    Peace to you,
    Bill

  23. This is so true about people perishing for lack of knowledge. The modern way of preaching is teaching that God is all love and leaving out the rest of the truth that God is also a God of judgement and hell is real and everlasting. Too many pastors and those who witness do not want to offend or make anyone uncomfortable. They are loving people to death and straight to hell literally.

  24. Be loved by our heavinly Father
    I’m so thankful to your insight . Today I was encouraging an elderly brother who loves jesus , by quoting “my peaple perish for ” I tries to find the reference & that’s how I found your God given insight . Thank you .
    . God did not say “ the murderers , the immoral, the ungodly, the Mormans , jehovah witnesses,buddists,hindus ,Etc. Perishing for the lack of knowledge ! He said My { people ARE } So let us encourage one another to pursue Jesus our Loving groom , know Him & his promises desires so we live { not perish } Amen

  25. I really like the way you broke that verse down!thanks for sharing.

  26. I often went through this scripture, but the way you interpret it, its so powerful and i m happy to know that everything is included in the single ticket,i mean the Bible, and as from now onwards i will only have one language ” it is written”. May God multiply you

  27. This so inspiring to me.From today onwards i will take my position as a child of God. Thank you so much for your teachings God bless you

  28. I’ve been moved by your message…May God richly bless you for such an inspirational and eye opening message.

  29. Realy it was so touching.

    • God bless u for what ur doing. Am blesd and i believe many more are feeling like I do. The bible says tha we do not get weary in doing good for in due time we shall reap the harvest.Thans so very much

  30. I am so inspired by your commitment to bring the word so clear and concise. I was encouraged to continue my mission in helping the youth in my community after the readings of this post. I became overwhelmed with the needs of my community such as youth homelessness, High rates of Substance Use Disorder, Prostitution with our young girls from as young as 12 to 25 and our young African American males being sentence to 20yrs to life for crimes that did not match the charges, The scripture reading ease the burden I was carrying about these issues. Feelings of hopelessness and shame sat in and I was hurt by what I was seeing and needed an answer from God. I didn’t need another form where we discuss issues. I needed to know what in the world was going on with my culture as a African American women. I cried out to God not understanding why these things were happen to our African American men women and children.

    That’s when God put it on my heart. Our people perish for lack of knowledge. Then I Look it up on the internet and find this website. I glad I did! Thank you so much

  31. i have been blessed so much

  32. Thank you for the inspirin thought.Tonight I wakeup at 12 midnight remembering this verse and found out this message. May the Almighty God bless u.
    omana

  33. Hi, can I put some of your devotionals in our Church Newsletter? I can only fit a paragraph or two but I would clearly acknowledge you as author. Hope to hear from you. thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 350 other followers

