Posted by: peebles | September 16, 2007

To be like Jesus, all I want is to be like him.

To be like Jesus, all I want is to be like him.

When I was growing up I wanted to play football ( soccer ) like Pele, to score the goal that won the world cup. I even dreamed of being like Babe Ruth, and hitting a home run to win the world series. Or be a great quarterback like Steve Young of the 49ers, and throw that winning pass for a touch down, at the super bowl. I wanted to sing like Elvis Presley, and dance like Fred Astaire. I even at one time wanted to be like Clark Kent, and fly like Superman and save the day.

The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 13 v 11 ” When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me “. But even in putting the childish ways behind me, I still have a simple child like faith to believe in God.

Now I know what really is important, I know who I would want to be like, more than any man that has ever lived……I want to be like Jesus Christ, my Messiah, my Saviour, my Lord and my King. Who went about doing good, and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, who brought the world a new way of living, by faith, love, power in the Holy Spirit and trusting in God.

To be like Jesus, and tell people about the Kingdom of God, to reach out to the lost with compassion, to help those in need. To do as the Bible says in 1 Peter 2:21 That he Jesus ” left you an example, that you should follow in his steps “. To follow in the footsteps of Jesus, and to be like him, is all that I desire.

In the words of the old gospel song…

To be like Jesus, to be like Jesus

All I ask, is to be like Him

All through life’s journey

From earth to glory

All I ask, is to be like Him
God bless you my friend, Matthew. 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

