Posted by: peebles | August 19, 2007

Thank you Jesus.

Thank you Jesus.

There were ten lepers who came to Jesus. The Bible tells us in Luke 17 v 11 to 19.

They said ” Master have pity on us “. When Jesus saw them, he said ” Go show your self to the priest “. And as they went they were cleansed. One of them when he saw that he was healed, came back, praising God in a loud voice. He threw himself at Jesus`s feet and thanked him, and he was a Samaritan.

This story from Luke always hits home. How many times do we actually take the time to say ” Thank you Jesus ” for what you have done for me “. To even show God our expression of gratitude or our appreciation for his mercy, his love, his forgiveness or even to his Son Jesus, our Lord and Saviour.

The Lord has done so much for us each and every day, yet do we even take that time to come before him and say “ Thank you Lord “.

This man was not only not ashamed to say thank you, but also not ashamed raise his voice to the Lord in praise for what he had done for him. What is even more amazing is that he, a Samaritan threw him self at Jesus`s feet to say “ Thank you ” In front of everyone.

Where has all the gratitude to the Lord gone ?. Someone said we should have ” An attitude of gratitude ” when it comes to the Lord. When was was the last time we even said, Lord thank you for saving me, thank you for my salvation ?. Or even said ” Thank you Jesus ” for dying for me on that cross for my sins. ” Thank you Jesus ” for rising from the dead, for giving me a home in heaven to look forward to ” Thank you Jesus ” For sending the Holy Spirit in to my life.

There was a song that I used to sing in church. It went something like this…

Thank you Lord for saving my soul,

thank you Lord for making me whole,

thank you lord for giving to me,

thy great salvation so rich and free.

In the Old Testament I read of the people of God, giving a thank offering to the Lord, time and time again. Even in the New Testament I read time and time again of people giving thanks to the Lord for each and every little thing.

I have often thought that we spend so much time asking God for things, but take very little time to say “ Thank you God  “.

I love Psalm 136 each verse starts with this “ Give thanks to the Lord ” Then each verse ends with this ” His love endures forever ” or as the JKV says ”  For his mercy endureth for ever “.  The more we say “ Thank you Jesus ” and mean it, the more we become a people with a grateful heart to the grace, mercy, forgiveness and love of the Lord. May we become a people who are forever giving thanks to our great and awesome God.

O give thanks to the lord, all you his people,

O give thanks to the Lord for he is good,

Let us praise, let us thank,

Let us celebrate and dance,

O give thanks to the Lord for he is good.  

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. I was six… alone… swinging on the swing-set at the play ground.

    There was no one around, no one to play with… so I sang to Jesus. He was there with me… I could feel His arms around me… That was the day I was sure He came into my heart……

    ……. I never wanted the moment to end. I still don’t.

  2. Hello Matthew. I thought it would be interesting to check out your thought for the day. Thanks so much for the card you sent me. You have a great insight into what it really means to be a Christian. Take care and God Bless, Jenny


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

